Get Ready for The Open Golf Championship

Tuesday June 30, 2015


The 2015 Open Championship is almost upon us. It will begin on 16th July on the famous St Andrews old course in Scotland. Lasting for four days, it will see many of the world’s best players converge on the course to test their skills and see who will win this year’s Golf Champion Trophy. This is more commonly known as the Claret Jug, and the winner holds it aloft once his name has been added to it.

The Open is not always played in Scotland but there are five courses there that have been used for the championship. Aside from St Andrews the others are Carnoustie, Muirfield, Royal Troon and Turnberry. Other courses that have also been used are Royal Birkdale and Royal Lytham in England, and Royal Liverpool (Hoylake) as well. Down in the south-east of England the Royal St George’s course has also been used in the past.

This year will see the 144th annual championship take place. A total of 156 golfers will take to the course and attempt to make it through the four days in order to achieve the title of champion. In 2014 the winner was Rory McIlroy by two strokes. It isn’t that common for one player to win the championship two years in a row, although Tiger Woods did it in 2005 and 2006, and Padraig Harrington won in 2007 and 2008. Back in the Eighties Tom Watson from the US won The Open in 1980, 1982 and 1983, securing three wins in four years – on two occasions by just one stroke.

No doubt you will already be wondering who the lucky winner will be this year. With 18 holes to play – including ones called Ginger Beer, Bobby Jones and Corner of the Dyke – the situation can change frequently as the golfers take on one hole after another to see who will prevail.

If you haven’t yet got your bets on the outcome of The Open 2015, perhaps now is a good time to see who is playing and who might come up trumps this year. You never know who could be the lucky winner and it can very often come down to the wire as well.





GamCare BeGambleAware 18+
Content is not intended for an audience under 18 years of age.