World Darts Championship Launches in the New Year

Thursday December 18, 2014


The New Year is all set to bring with it a whole selection of sporting events to start 2015 in style. We don’t have to wait long for the first one either, since the BDO World Darts Championship begins on 3rd January. This runs until the 11th January and the Women’s Championships will run alongside them on the same dates.

The World Championships are hosted by the British Darts Organisation. At least this particular version is – there is also a PDC World Championship for darts that takes place around the same time. This means all darts fans will have the chance to consider who they might back to win each version of the championships and to place a bet accordingly.

The World Championships mentioned here, held by the BDO, takes place in the Lakeside Country Club in Frimley Green. Plenty of fans will have bought their tickets already and they’ll be getting ready to descend on the country club to take their seats to see who might walk away with the top prize this year. With the final being held on the Sunday in an evening session, it all looks set to be a great competition.

The event began back in 1978 and there have been some famous winners over the years. Names such as Eric Bristow, Jocky Wilson and Phil Taylor have all won the championships, some more than once. Eric Bristow won five times and was the runner-up another five times, so he knows something about getting to the final, not to mention what it feels like to finish in each position. Raymond Barneveld has the next best outcome of his attempts to win the title. He appeared in six finals between 1995 and 2006 and won four of them, coming in as the runner-up in 1995 and 2006.

Last year the championship was won by Stephen Bunting from England, who beat Alan Norris in the final. Bunting won £100,000 as the champion while Norris took home £35,000 as the runner-up. This is a long way from the £3,000 won by Leighton Rees in the first championships ever to take place in 1978. John Lowe was the runner-up that year, taking home £1,700 in the process!

Who will win the prize this year?





GamCare BeGambleAware 18+
Content is not intended for an audience under 18 years of age.